My first illustration for Amelia’s Magazine

On Friday, I volunteered to illustrate a piece of work for Amelia’s Magazine. I’d been motivated to do this because of a tweet from The Mighty Pencil, a Twitter feed I follow who spread words of wisdom in the world of commercial illustration. This particular tweet read:

“As a freelancer you have the scope and freedom to take risks, without being reckless. Test your boundaries and learn from your experiences.”

I’m not a freelancer, but I thought I should try something ‘unsafe’ – ie, not pretty, bird or floral related. You get my drift.

So, I responded to a callout from Amelia’s magazine, not knowing the brief. When I received a mail back, and realised the depth of what was required, at first, I thought I’d bitten off more than I could chew. The brief was to illustrate a piece representing The Ratcliffe Trial, a highly organised protest which was hijacked by the Police before it could start at the Ratcliffe-on-Soar power station in Nottinghamshire, in which Amelia, herself, was one of the activists. Hopefully you now realise why my perspiration glands had started to work on overtime.

I didn’t have time to come up with any initial sketches, because the illustration was due today, Monday. I did some research and set to it. After submitting it last night around midnight, I just received a message from Amelia, letting me know that amongst others, she has used my illustration, and I am mighty proud.

Thank you very much to Amelia for using my illustration and I would also like to thank The Mighty Pencil for its words of wisdom. I am sure I would not have volunteered had I not followed their trusted advise.

Ratcliffe-On-Soar Power Station – Mixed Media Collage

The green chimneys represent the paradox of green as a pure, natural colour versus green often used to represent poison or something poisonous.

The background images of the smoke clouds hide the face of Charles Darwin, a Native Indian Tribesman and Darwin drawings relating to the evolution of man. These have been used to illustrate our roots and these historical peoples beliefs of evolution and the sacred, precious land.

4 thoughts on “My first illustration for Amelia’s Magazine

Leave a Reply

